Student Q&A: Life after graduation

Michael Pote, 21

Year: Senior

Major: Advertising

Lives: Brooklyn, New York

What are you going to do on graduation day?

The first thing I’m going to do is graduate, after that, I haven’t really made any plans. I might go out and eat dinner or something with my family, but I’m definitely trying to party. It’ll be one of the last days that me and my friends are all here, and it’s my last day of school, so it’s definitely reason for celebration. As for specifics, I haven’t made any plans yet, but I definitely want to do something unforgettable.

Are you sad or happy that college is over?

College was the best four years of my life. I met a million people, partied all the time, and my biggest worry was getting good grades. I know I’ll never be in a situation where I can go to class, sleep all day, and party all night for everyday of the week, so I’m obviously sad that that’s over. But I was also getting sick of going to class, and felt really bored after a while. I’m happy that it’s finally done, and I get to begin my real life.

Where are you going to live after graduation?

My family lives in Brooklyn so I commuted for all four years. When I graduate I’m going to continue living with them, and I haven’t decided when I’m going o move out yet. It depends on a couple things, mainly my job.

How long after you graduate are you going to begin searching for your job/career?

I’ve already begun searching for a job, but I haven’t formally applied anywhere. I’ll probably start putting in applications a month after I graduate.

Do you think STJ fully prepared you for life after graduation?

I did a couple internships while I was here at St. John’s and I think they adequately prepared me for the real world. One of my internships actually offered me a position after I graduate, so I feel safe entering the advertising field with the knowledge I learned at St. John’s. I had great teachers, and a lot of hands-on classes, so I feel like I learned enough to land a job. I think everybody can learn enough to confidently go into their respective workforce after graduation, they just have to be interested enough.

 

 

Andrew Fratto, 21

Year: Senior

Major: Communications

Lives: Baltimore, Maryland

What are you going to do on graduation day?

Go out with the friends I’ve made in the past four years and reminisce on all the good and bad things we’ve been through. We’re all going out during the whole last week of school, and I’m going to try and find everybody I met while I was here. It’s going to be a happy day.

Are you sad or happy that college is over?

I’m sad and scared that college is about to be over. College is so much fun, and I don’t ever want it to end. I guess I’m happy that I’m getting my diploma, but I’d trade that in to go back to freshman year and relive college all over again.

Where are you going to live after graduation?

I have no idea. First, I’m going to go back to my parents’ house and see how things go. I’ll probably live there for a little bit, until I get a steady job, or I may even buy an apartment with my girlfriend. I just have no idea right now, that’s why I’m a little scared.

How long after you graduate are you going to begin searching for your job/career?

Oh my God. Do I really have to think about that right now? I don’t even know what type of job I’m going to start searching for yet; I just have no clue on what I’m going to do when I graduate. I’ll probably start looking for something in the summer sometime; I usually work a summer job each year anyways.

Do you think STJ fully prepared you for life after graduation?

I think it would have if I came into school with a definitive plan. The four years just flew by so quick that now it feels like I didn’t learn much. I may be getting a degree, but I don’t think I’m as knowledgeable as possible in communications. I’m going in to the real world hoping to learn some more things, because I don’t know much right now.

 

 

 

 

Michelle Carbury, 21

Year: Senior

Major: Communications

Lives: Elizabeth, New Jersey

What are you going to do on graduation day?

I don’t have anything spectacular planned. My family will come up from Jersey so we’ll go out for dinner. After that, I’ll go to a few bars with my friends. But me and my friends are planning a trip to the Bahamas sometime in the summer as our graduation celebration.

Are you sad or happy that college is over?

A little bit of both. College is fun as hell, but you eventually have to move on, you can’t stay here forever.

Where are you going to live after graduation?

I rent an apartment here in Queens and the lease won’t be up until September, so I’m going to stay here a little bit and get the most out of living in New York. After that, I’m going back to my house in New Jersey and I don’t have any plans of moving out yet. Where I find a job will determine where I look for a place to live on my own. But I’m not that psyched about living by myself just yet.

How long after you graduate are you going to begin searching for your job/career?

As soon as I graduate I’m going to be looking for a career. I’m currently doing an internship here at St. Johns with Redstormsports, so I may even try to find a job with them. But if I take a month or two off, I’d like to be working around the time I would be going back to school.

Do you think STJ fully prepared you for life after graduation?

I think St. John’s prepared me to find a job in my workforce. The offered me great classes and my internships have really helped me. There were some classes and teachers at St. John’s that didn’t teach me anything, but I chose to stay away from them. I didn’t learn everything I could possibly have learned but I learned enough to make me bored of going to class everyday. I just want to get started with my life, and St. John’s did a good job preparing me to do so.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

