Student Q+A: Transfer between States

n27618598_35083188_5429 Her name is Jordan Haskins (right side), freshman at St. John’s University, and a member of St. John’s volleyball team.

1.Why have you moved from Hawaii to Maryland?
The main reason is we got permanent change of station orders from my mom’s job to go to Maryland.

2.What was bothering you the most?
That would be my lovely dog, and we had to sell him, Farrington. We couldn’t bring him with us to where we were moving because it was winter. Since he lived all his life in Hawaii, his bones wouldn’t grow correctly in the cold. So we sold him to these people that had a female Great Dane named Sandy. I don’t think I ever cried so hard in my life. It felt like a part of me was missing, like my whole world just stopped. And my mom felt the same. I no longer had my gentle giant around to go lay his big self on my twin sized bed, or to keep me company when I was in the bath tub. Now, who was going to let me put soap on their nose? This dog wasn’t just a dog; he was a part of our family and made us feel at home. And without him, we felt empty. He was irreplaceable, and we had lost him. We had to give him up so we could go to some…place. Already it was hard for us, already I hated this place and we weren’t even at the airport yet, when I was 12.

3.When people ask you where are you from, how you are going to say?
Well, when people ask me where I’m from, I can never come up with a legitimate answer. I was born in Germany, but I’m not German. The only word I know in German is shiza (shit) ^_^. I used to live in Hawaii, but I’m not Hawaiian either. My house is in Maryland, but I wasn’t born there, and I don’t really like it there either. Since I’ve been in Maryland, I’ve been to 11 different schools. The longest I’ve stayed at one school is three years, and that was the high school I just graduated from.
However, I often wish that when people ask me, “Where are you from?” that I could say…something. But now I’m 18 years old and a freshman in college and have yet to find an answer, and don’t think I will any time soon.

4. How did you adapt the different between Hawaii and Maryland, such as the weather?
Once we arrived in Maryland, we found that it was about 3 degrees outside and 12 feet of snow on the ground. We came in the middle of the blizzard of ’96, the worst snow storm in Maryland for a long time. Perfect timing. So I had to call this home? I remember asking my mother if it was going to be warmer outside, like back at home in Hawaii. And she replied, “No. and this is home.” We have to get over it.

5. Who is the victim form moving?
I would say every member form family, they’re devastated, but especially kids. They have to change schools, find new friends, new room, and new places to chill. A lot of people I’ve met can count the number of times they’ve moved on one hand. So imagine having to start over nine more times. Even if you meet your life-long best friend, you have to leave them come next school year anyway. You finally get your room just the way you like it, but you have to pack it all away in a few months, so what’s the point? You can’t even keep a dog around because not even they can adjust to all the moving back and forth.

6. How was your feeling of single mom?
It got to be lonely. My mom worked so once school was out, she wasn’t home a lot of the time. When I was younger, I often played alone or watched T.V. in my room by myself. I guess I grew tired of everything being so new; new people, new surroundings, new house. I wasn’t really a people person to begin with, so it wasn’t like me to just go up to someone and say, “Hey, I’m Jordan. Wanna be my friend?” although there’s nothing in my life that I regret or would do different, I honestly do wish that I had something to look back on. I wish that I had family just a car ride away, or a best friend since I was five.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

