St. John’s and the City, Oct. 24-26

Hey Johnnies,

Well, I’m happy to say i have made it back safely from my amazing trip to Harrisonburg, VA last weekend! It took me a while, but I knew all of you were worried since you hadn’t heard from me in a while (bold statement on my part).

This week, we have an event for you that takes me back to my youth. Being a child from New Hampshire, I lived for the fall. It was a time that brought out my favorite Patriots Starter Jacket, the most beautiful foliage in the world and, of course, PUMPKINFEST! It was a festival dedicated to the beauty of pumpkin carving and pumpkin pie and, well, everything pumpkin. Now, nothing will ever match Pumpkinfest (sadly, I’m missing it this year) but, here in the city, there is something similar going on in the worlds most famous park…

The New York City Pumpkin Festival, hosted throughout Central Park this Saturday, will be a complete celebration of all things pumpkin (and some other fun autumn things). Some of the events that will be going on here at the festival will include a Jack-O-Lantern wall, pumpkin patch, a scary haunted house located inside Bethesda Terrace Arcade, a scarecrow design competition and a hayride through the festival. Here is a more detailed list of events.

The annual event is sponsored by Camp Sunshine, a camp located in Casco Bay, Maine. The camp gives hope to children all over the United States who are suffering from life threatening diseases. To learn more about the organization, please enter this site

So, I really hope I see my St. John’s kiddos out there this weekend at the festival. Just don’t forget your cocoa…

Mmmmmmmm

Mmmmmmmm

~Matt Goulet

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

