Stuff We’re Hating

In a slight spin off of our usual routine, instead of telling you all the cool and unusual things I’m digging today; let’s reverse it, since it seems like the day for a good, angry rant. First off, T-mobile.  It sucks, and I’m not the only one who thinks so.  I can’t get calls in my house, at my job; I tried to call 911 and it failed once.  And it’s not as though I can call 611 to get customer service, which fails too.  In my numerous conversations with T-mobile staff, who all seem very pleasant, they’ve been able to have me take my phone apart, put it back together, reconnect to the network, and basically jump through a dozen and a half hoops to get absolutely no result.  My mom and I once put our phones next to each other and we still couldn’t call each other.

T-mobile was not available for comment, because when I called their corporate headquarters, the receptionist very curtly told me that the phone’s there weren’t working.

Another thing thats been ‘grinding my gears’ today is our ‘fine’ tech department, coupled with our equally ‘fine’ laptops.  My laptop died two days ago, fried itself spontaneously.  The tech department at Sullivan’s response; give me a new hard drive, which, considering the eight months of files on my laptop, doesn’t help much.

What could have helped is the system restoration program that came with all of our laptops, that nifty little widget that lets you get into you files without having to have Windows work, so you can transfer data to a flash drive or a jump drive.  Unfortunately, this program has been suspended on all the laptops, except those issued to the freshmen this year; the reason for this is that some students accidentally found their way into this program, and though restoring their systems would be a good idea, probably thinking that it sounds like a pretty positive operation.  What they fail to realize is that ‘restore’ in this case means ‘restore to factory default settings,’ i.e. they essentially reformatted their hard drives, wiped their registries clean, and now have brand new computers, minus any hardware damage.

So for the last two days, I’ve been trying to replace countless hours of work because some students didn’t understand how to use the system restoration program and, instead of educating them about it, the tech department thought it would be easier to just disable a perfectly useful tool for saving files in the event of a meltdown.  Brilliant.

– Fernando Arrue

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

