The Angry Johnnie, Where are My Teachers?

That would be pretty cool!

That would be pretty cool!

Hey Johnnies,

I come to you today mildly distraught. So, I am having trouble in one of my classes, and I probably should meet with my teacher to work out everything to see if i can actually catch up. Problem is, he only has 4 hours of office time, and they are all during my classes. When I asked if i could meet with him/her at another time, he/she says “well, I really don’t have time.”

Yeah, apparently not to many teachers around here too.

I know half of you have run into this problem at least once while attending this great university, and if you haven’t, you more than likely will. And the rest of the country have began to take notice.

Our beloved university ended up on the list for least accessible teachers on this years Princeton Review for the third year in a row. It goes to show that this university has had a problem with this for a while, and is having problems finding time for the students paying over $40,000 a year to attend this university.

So what do you do to solve this problem?

Well, I don’t run the university and i have no future in finance, but I have enough common knowledge to put two-and-two together.

With addition of this new UC being built next to Sullivan Hall, maybe it would be a good idea to use the old UC as offices for these teachers. Not only will it allow for teachers to be more accessible to their students, but it will also get some of these adjuncts out of the basement of Marillac Hall and into a more suitable environment for learning.

And also, maybe you can take some of the workload off of some these teachers and pay them to help students. I know with the latest surge of students coming to this university that we can find a way to maybe add a few new teachers, and still pay our teachers the same amount, but just give them a few more hours to be there for us. Remember, this is a catholic university, it’s all about giving back to the community…

Now, I know that this post won’t change the way this university, but I hope this can be an awakening for change. And no, I don’t want to revolt against the man, though that would be pretty cool to do at some point in my life…

For the record, this is a homework assignment. I was forced to blog this…

-Matt Goulet

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

